For Portugal D8 residence visa bank account requirements, separate three issues. First, the statutory remote-work income test is currently €3,680 average per month in 2026. Second, the consular post may require recent bank statements and a minimum accessible balance. Third, neither the specific national rule nor the current United Kingdom D9 checklist says that those statements must come from a Portuguese bank. Always use the checklist for the Portuguese consulate or VFS jurisdiction where you are legally entitled to apply.
€3,680/month
Official threshold logic: four times the €920 mainland minimum wage, averaged over the previous three months.
3 months
Bank statements are requested for both employees and independent professionals.
€920
An operational requirement in the 6 March 2026 UK D9 checklist; not a universal statutory savings figure.
Not named
Article 31-A does not state that the qualifying account must be opened with a Portuguese bank.
First, a naming problem: “D8” is not the safest official code
“D8 visa” is widely used by relocation companies and English-language websites as shorthand for Portugal’s digital-nomad route. The legal category is the visto de residência para o exercício de atividade profissional prestada de forma remota para fora do território nacional — the residence visa for professional activity performed remotely for entities outside Portugal.
However, current official operational coding can differ from the commercial shorthand. The Portugal VFS page for the United Kingdom labels the remote-work residence visa D9, while D8 is used there for an accompanying family member applying for a residence visa. The current Portugal VFS page for Iran also uses D9 for remote digital nomads. This matters because selecting the wrong category can send you to the wrong checklist.
Use “D8” when searching if that is the term your audience or adviser uses, but file under the exact remote-work residence category shown by your competent Portuguese post. The category name is more reliable than an informal code.
What the national remote-work rule actually requires
The core rule is Article 31-A of Decreto Regulamentar n.º 84/2007, added for remote workers in 2022. For an employee, it requires an employment contract or employer declaration proving the employment relationship. For an independent professional, it accepts a company contract, service contract, or document showing services provided to one or more entities. It then requires proof of average monthly professional income during the preceding three months equal to at least four minimum monthly wages, plus a document proving fiscal residence.
The underlying residence-visa authority appears in Article 61-B of Law n.º 23/2007, which defines the route for employees and independent professionals working remotely for persons or entities based outside Portugal.
A bank statement is evidence; a Portuguese bank account is a location. The law can require you to prove income and financial means without requiring that the account itself be Portuguese. Confusing those propositions is the main reason Portugal D8 residence visa bank account requirements look contradictory across commercial websites.
The 2026 income threshold is €3,680 — and savings do not replace it
Portugal’s mainland Retribuição Mínima Mensal Garantida (RMMG) is €920 in 2026, effective from 1 January 2026, according to the official DGERT minimum-wage notice. Four times €920 equals €3,680. The current UK remote-work residence checklist expressly states a minimum average monthly income of €3,680 for the previous three months.
This is an income test, not a savings test. A large bank balance does not automatically cure insufficient qualifying professional income. For example, an applicant with €40,000 in savings but average qualifying remote-work income of €3,000 over the relevant three months would still fall below the current four-times-RMMG threshold.
The reverse is also important. Meeting the €3,680 average income threshold does not mean the consular post must ignore available funds. The UK D9 checklist dated 6 March 2026 separately asks applicants to demonstrate an available bank balance of at least €920. That is a post-specific operational instruction and should not be transformed into a universal rule for every country.
What about the widely quoted €11,040 savings figure?
Some commercial guides state that a main applicant must hold €11,040 — twelve times the 2026 minimum wage — in a Portuguese bank account. That figure can be understood as a conservative extrapolation from Portugal’s general means-of-subsistence framework for residence visas, but it is not stated as a universal D8/D9 bank-deposit requirement in Article 31-A, and the current UK D9 checklist does not demand €11,040. It asks for three months of bank statements, the €3,680 average monthly income test, and an available bank balance of at least €920.
Portugal’s general means-of-subsistence framework remains relevant. Portaria n.º 1563/2007 defines stable and regular resources and uses the minimum wage as its reference, with family weighting of 100% for the first adult, 50% for additional adults and 30% for dependent children. But an applicant should not convert that framework into a supposed universal “Portuguese account balance” unless the applicable consular checklist actually does so.
Qualifying income
Current benchmark: €3,680 average per month over the previous three months. This comes from remote employment or independent professional activity.
Available balance
Checklist-dependent: the UK D9 checklist currently says at least €920 available. Other posts may structure proof differently.
Portuguese account
Not universal: neither Article 31-A nor the current UK D9 checklist says the account holding those statements must be Portuguese.
What your bank statements should prove
For Portugal D8 residence visa bank account requirements, the strongest bank evidence connects the financial record to the professional evidence. If you are employed, the salary shown on payslips should be identifiable in the account statements. If you are self-employed, invoices and service contracts should reconcile reasonably with incoming payments. A statement that only shows a large closing balance may be useful for liquidity, but it does not by itself prove the three-month professional-income test.
- Use the period requested by your post. The current UK D9 checklist asks for the last three months.
- Show the applicant’s identity clearly. The account holder name and enough account information should make ownership unambiguous.
- Make income receipts traceable. Salary, client payments or professional receipts should be consistent with the contracts, payslips or invoices in the file.
- Show an accessible balance. Where the checklist specifies a minimum balance, ensure the most recent evidence demonstrates it.
- Check currency presentation rules. The current Portugal VFS page for Iran says bank statements and account balances must include the exact amount in EUR or USD in addition to IRR.
- Use institution-issued statements where possible. If you rely on a digital-bank or fintech statement, confirm that your consular post accepts the format; national law does not create a blanket approval rule for every platform.
Large last-minute transfers are not automatically prohibited, but they can weaken the explanatory value of the statements if the source of funds is unclear. If a material transfer is legitimate, include supporting evidence rather than expecting the decision-maker to infer its origin.
Do you need a Portuguese bank account before applying?
Not as a universal requirement under the specific remote-work residence-visa rule. Article 31-A does not list a Portuguese account, and the March 2026 UK D9 checklist asks for bank statements and an available balance without saying that the account must be Portuguese. This is the most defensible answer to Portugal D8 residence visa bank account requirements at national-rule level.
A Portuguese account can still be useful. It may simplify rent, utilities and local payments after moving, and a particular consular post can ask for additional evidence beyond the baseline legislation. But “useful” and “mandatory for every D8 applicant” are different statements. Before paying a service provider to obtain a Portuguese NIF and bank account, check whether the official checklist for your jurisdiction actually requires either document at the visa stage.
The specific Article 31-A list does not name a Portuguese NIF either. A NIF is highly useful for Portuguese banking, leases and tax administration, but do not present a commercial onboarding sequence — “get NIF, open Portuguese account, deposit 12 months of minimum wage” — as statutory D8 law unless the competent authority or checklist for the applicant’s jurisdiction says so.
Why the country-specific checklist can change the practical answer
Visa law is national, but applications are lodged through a competent Portuguese consular network. Operational checklists can therefore specify how a legal requirement must be evidenced. This is why two applicants who both satisfy Article 31-A can face different document formatting instructions depending on where they apply.
The United Kingdom provides a useful current example. Its 6 March 2026 D9 checklist requires three months of bank statements, last three months of payslips for employees or invoices for independent professionals, proof of fiscal residence, the €3,680 average income threshold and at least €920 available in the bank. The document also describes the residence visa as initially valid for 120 days, allowing up to two entries before the residence-permit stage in Portugal.
Iran illustrates a different operational detail. The current VFS page identifies remote digital nomads under D9 and states that bank statements and account balances must show EUR or USD amounts in addition to IRR. That is not a change to Article 31-A; it is a presentation requirement relevant to that filing channel.
Law establishes the substantive test; the competent post establishes the filing mechanics. If a commercial guide conflicts with current legislation or the current official checklist for your jurisdiction, the commercial guide should not control your application.
Do not mix the residence visa with the temporary-stay remote-work visa
Portugal offers both a remote-work residence visa and a temporary-stay remote-work visa. They lead to different immigration outcomes and can have different operational checklists. In the current UK system, the temporary route is E11 and the residence route is D9. Importing the bank requirements from one route into the other is a common source of incorrect advice.
PortugalPath has a separate guide on temporary-stay remote-work bank-account requirements. Use it if your intended stay is under the temporary route rather than the residence route leading to an AIMA residence permit.
Application-ready financial checklist
Before submitting, audit Portugal D8 residence visa bank account requirements against the exact checklist in force for your jurisdiction on the date of filing. A robust financial file normally follows this sequence:
- Confirm that you are applying for the residence visa for remote professional activity outside Portugal, not the temporary-stay version or an accompanying-family category.
- Recalculate the income threshold using the current Portuguese minimum wage. For 2026, four times €920 is €3,680.
- Calculate your actual average qualifying professional income over the preceding three months; do not substitute savings for missing income.
- Download the latest official or VFS checklist for your competent Portuguese consular jurisdiction and save a dated copy.
- Prepare the exact number of bank-statement months requested and ensure income deposits can be reconciled with contracts, payslips or invoices.
- Meet any separately stated available-balance requirement. Do not assume a figure from another country’s checklist.
- Check whether the post specifies currency conversion, statement language, certification, translation or legalization.
- Verify whether the checklist actually requires a Portuguese bank account or NIF before buying a service package for them.
- Keep funds accessible through the visa process; avoid presenting money that is technically shown on paper but unavailable for living costs.
- Be prepared for an additional-document request. A complete checklist is strong evidence, but it is not a guarantee of approval.
Need help checking a remote-work residence visa file?
PortugalPath can help you organise the practical document questions around your application and identify which checklist applies to your filing jurisdiction. Where your case requires legal advice, use an appropriately qualified professional. No private provider can guarantee a visa decision or prevent a consulate from requesting additional evidence.
The practical bottom line
Portugal D8 residence visa bank account requirements should not be reduced to “open a Portuguese account and deposit €11,040.” The current legal test is centered on genuine remote professional activity, fiscal residence and average monthly professional income of at least four minimum wages over the previous three months. In 2026, that income threshold is €3,680.
Bank statements can absolutely be required. The current UK D9 checklist asks for three months of statements and at least €920 available, while other posts can impose different presentation rules. But those operational requirements do not establish a universal Portuguese-bank-account mandate. The safest approach is to satisfy the national legal test, then follow the current checklist of the exact consular post handling your case.
Related PortugalPath Guides
Sources and Verification
- Diário da República — Article 31-A, remote-work residence visa: verified the specific remote-work evidence and three-month income threshold.
- Diário da República — Article 61-B, Law n.º 23/2007: verified the residence-visa route for remote work for foreign-based employers or clients.
- DGERT — 2026 minimum monthly wage: verified the €920 RMMG effective from 1 January 2026.
- Diário da República — Portaria n.º 1563/2007: verified the general means-of-subsistence framework and family weighting.
- VFS Portugal / United Kingdom — D9 checklist dated 6 March 2026: verified three months of statements, €3,680 average income and the €920 available-balance instruction.
- VFS Portugal / Iran — National Visa information: verified D9 remote-work coding and the EUR/USD presentation rule for bank statements and balances.
Photo credit: Lisha Riabinina, Lisbon, Portugal, 14 May 2022 — Source: Unsplash




